Growing

In the quiet hour I wait.  I see before me an unscalable mountain of living.  An exorbitant price to pay in the days ahead.  But I wait.  In quiet and in faint light I still my thoughts and calm my emotions.

From the echo within me resounds His familiar whisper;

From everlasting to everlasting I AM the shield around you; I AM your glory, the One who holds your head high.  You cry out to Me and before the words leave your lips I AM the One who hears you.  I hear you and I answer you.  I watch over you and I reign My peace around you.  You lay down and sleep in safety, and you arise renewed and with My strength.  

Pay attention and learn good judgement, for I AM giving you good guidance. Don’t turn away from My instructions.  Take My words to heart and follow my commands, get wisdom and develop good judgement.  My child, listen to me and do as I do and you will have a long good life. I will lead you in straight paths.  When you walk you won’t be held back; when you run, you won’t stumble.  

Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life.  Look straight ahead and fix your eyes on what lies before you. For I AM there, already breaking away the barriers and removing the enemy’s strongholds.  I AM the way, the truth and your life, I will not disappoint.  I will not let you down.  Protect the love you have for Me.  Guard it and keep it and I will keep you in My peace and I will keep you in My strength. 

Child, go where I go.  Follow where I lead.  In the moment I command, you must open your mouth and speak, and it will be so.  There will be no fear in your heart, and you will not stumble on your words.  For I AM dwells within you.  The mountains will crumble and the seas will shake at one look from your eye.  Stand firm before Me and watch.  Watch what I will do.  

And I have a picture in my mind, of a tiny child standing at her Father’s feet, with her back to his shins.  He is as large as an exaggerated shadow behind her, and Brilliant light of red and orange and yellow and purple behind him, shine around all that is before them. And as the tiny child raises her hand to command a herd of buffalo to stop, her Father’s hand raises behind her – and the herd stops.  And as she lifts her arms to tell them to go in another direction, her Father’s arms lift – and they go.  And in everything that the tiny child does or says, her Father behind her does and says – and it happens.

And when a storm rises up around them and the tiny child ducks down in fear, her Father bends himself down and surrounds her.  His whole self completely encompassing her in protection and comfort.  And when the sun shines again, and she raises up, so does her Father.

But, when a storm comes and the tiny child stands firm, her Father behind her rebukes the wind and the rain and calms the storm with one word.  In these moments I see the tiny child grow an inch or two.  I see the colors radiate vibrantly behind them, surrounding them more fully.

And the child’s movements grow more daring and the Father’s display of power increases.

Leave a Reply

