Dinner: Simply In Season, A world community cookbook

Last night was Tomato pie, from Simply In Season pg 135 of the summer section, with a few alterations…

*I used mexican blend cheese instead of sharp cheddar in the crust, because this was all I had.  
*I used the whole egg instead of just the yoke, as I am not going to need an egg white anytime soon, and I am extremely clumsy when  it comes to separating the two. 
*I only used 1 pound of tomatoes, and added roasted chicken because I had it on hand.  

This was extremely easy and an “all-in-one-dish” sort of dinner that was demolished by my husband and children, even the one who dislikes tomatoes!

The corn was drizzled with olive oil and rubbed lightly with sea salt and cracked pepper, then put on the BBQ for about 15 minutes.  It also disappeared.

Special thanks to my Grandparents for the tomatoes, fresh from their garden! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

