Food Today, Inspired by Extending the Table and More-With-Less, World Community Cookbooks

Bread: More-With-Less, page 58: Easy No-Knead Whole Wheat Bread

Today was an all out, no convenience day.  We are at the end of the month and very low on groceries, so I am using whatever I have on hand… it started this morning when we discovered we are very low on cereal and have no bread to toast… This bread turned out so well!  And it was made while a lot of life was going on… Easy is exactly what this was.

(Yes, one loaf is a lot bigger than the other – I only have one bread pan… so one loaf was baked in my casserole pan.)

 

Then, we had two little guests with us so I had to come up with something substantial for lunch.  Enter Quinoa…  (again!)

Beefy Egg & Corn Quinoa (my recipe)

1 cup rinsed quinoa
2 cups water
1 packet Lipton Beefy Onion Soup
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2-1cup frozen corn

Place water and rinsed grain into medium sauce pan and bring to a boil over med. heat. When boiling add Lipton soup mix, stir in thoroughly.  Add slightly beaten eggs and stir. When nearly all the liquid is absorbed add frozen corn. Cook until all liquid is absorbed, remove from heat and cover.  Let rest for 5 min, and serve.

I don’t have any leftovers… the kids really enjoyed this (which, yes, totally surprised me!)

When dinner time rolled around, I discovered we had only 1lb of ground beef left.  No cheese or fresh veggies or noodles… my sister suggested beef and salsa burritos, so I pulled out a tortilla recipe, as I don’t have tortillas on hand… (but salsa a plenty!)

Tortillas: Extending The Table, page 53: Flour Tortillas (Mexico)

These were good.  Maybe not the absolute best, but all I have on hand is whole wheat flour… and that means rather crumbly tortillas.  But they did roll out easily and nice and thin and everyone asked for seconds, so I think that was a hit!  However, they did take a lot of work… and time.  (and they are not very pretty!)

Leave a Reply

