Thank You

I tried counting the times I say, “thank you” to my kids.  Sadly, it was not very often!

I read, “if we are not speaking words of praise, than we are in great danger of speaking words of poison.”  And I am struck by how often I bark orders, insist on “hurrying up” and dish out negative consequences to negative behaviors.  Rather than dishing out praise and thank you’s in greater quantity.

So, I tried.

It is hard work!  Especially when my children are so much more used to my negative approach… like a drug, and detox is sluggish and even painful (for me!).  And I am quick to fall back into the addiction, overwhelmed by the grumbling reflection of my imperfect self.

But, then, this is what a mama does.  Make changes, first in myself, that leads us to grow as deeper, more grateful and giving people.  My legacy.  My role in this life presently.  Detox us, first myself, from grumbling and feed us all a diet of offering praise.

A thank you I want to offer now; to my husband.  Thank you, my love, for your continuous appreciation of all that I do, for setting this example in our family.  I notice, and it has impacted us.  Thank you.

“I cried out, “I am slipping!” but your unfailing love, O Lord, supported me. When doubts filled my mind, your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.” ~ Psalm 94:18-19

Leave a Reply

