My Love

Have I told you yet today, how much I love you?

How I appreciate the little things you do?

Everyday we move in and out of our tasks and schedule, in tandem, in unison, even in contradiction.  It’s in the little things you do that show me you still care.

When you remember me.  My randomness.  My need for routine.  When you think of me in the odd little ways that no one else would know.

We find ways everyday to show our love.  We’re learning.  We’re growing up, together, into this adult life. Discovering what living as one flesh looks like.  What a messy business it is.

But you love me still.

I know because of all the little things.

I love you.  I am grateful for you.  For all your long hours of work, trips that take you away for a while, hours you spend with the kid and I, the way you jump in and do laundry… even clean a toilet here and there.

I love you.  I am humbled by the humility you display when confronting yourself at your times of lowness. Inspired by your willingness to grow, need for change, hunger for what is real.

I love you.  You put up with my crazes, you have patience with my lack of patience, you laugh at my irrational urges… you rescue me from my silliness.

My Love, do you know how much I love you?  For these last 10 years and 60 more if the Lord allows.

Let me say it again today.

I love you.

 

 Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.   ~1 Corinthians 4:7

Leave a Reply

