Motherhood: Taking Time (may 16, 2011)

Getting away recently on a mini vacation without my kiddos has done a lot of things for my mental health. I am discovering, or maybe rediscovering, the benefit of taking time.  It comes in many forms.

Taking time to snuggle.  Taking time to eat slowly.  Taking time to shower.  Taking time to listen without interrupting or mentally being elsewhere.  Taking time to breath slowly.  Taking time to stretch.  Taking time to make lists.  Taking time to stare off into space, guilt free.  Taking time to chew.  Taking time to nap. Taking time to show my children how to clean up after themselves.  Taking time to read.   Taking time to feel everything that bottles up.  Taking time to cry.  Taking time to be in PJ’s all day.  Taking time to sigh, feel overwhelmed and to resign to being imperfect.  Taking time to enjoy.  Taking time to understand. Taking time to plan.  Taking time to surrender to chaos.  Taking time to laugh…

I fail in so many areas, I know my children will need counseling one day, and strength to forgive me.  But lately I am realizing the need to take time to forgive myself, to remember what is true and to remind myself that regardless of me, God still has every thing under control, including me and whatever influences my children.

Colossians 2:9 ”For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and you have been given fullness in Christ, who is the head over every power and authority,”

Leave a Reply

