Love In Truth: Being Right (april 3, 2011)

“The power of truth is stronger than man can fathom. Speak it without love and it turns into a weapon. Let it speak through your humility and you become it’s target’s honest friend.” ~ Anonymous

I am gifted with being right quite often.  Arrogant?  Yes, I can be.  Prideful?  Totally fall into that trap too.  But, right I often am regardless of my arrogance or of my pride.  I’m not sure if it’s being the first born, or if it is because of my tendency to see life more in terms of absolutes… or if it is simply the bent of my personality. Maybe it is my occupation to some degree too.

The biggest area I have had to grow in over my life has been learning how to speak truth in love, and better yet, to wait for an invitation to speak it at all.  I struggle with this!  Especially when it comes to watching my kids walk into mistakes I might have prevented had I shared my insights.  I want to protect them with all that I am, including with my gift of being right.  Being right also lends to having lots of opinions, and to an urgent drive to weigh in on matters I might be of some help in.

However, recently I have been confronted with situations in life where being right is defined in ways that aren’t so obvious.  Situation where layers have to be peeled back in order to understand more of the truth.  And it has been these situations that have opened new doors of my thinking about being right.  I believe that there is an absolute truth… but I am beginning to discover that truth is far heavier, far deeper, far denser, far loftier and more intricate and even complicated than any of us can fully wrap our minds around.  This leads me to believe, then, that it is possible to be absolutely right while being completely wrong, simply because I cannot know the complete truth of any matter, outside of the layers presented.  Humbly I say, there is only One who knows all and sees all and is capable of being unequivocally right.

This enlightenment places a new lens over my eye of being right… if I can be absolutely right while being completely wrong, simply because I am entirely human and incapable of grasping the fullness of absolute truth in all circumstances, then I surely had better have a humble approach if I am going to weigh in on what is right. Better yet, I may just want to wait for a burning bush before I open my mouth on a matter that I may or may not have full understanding of, regardless of how right I might be.  But if I am to speak out, as I do believe there always comes a time and place for doing, I must speak in terms of my own finite limitations to understanding, and I must allow the only One who knows the Truth to communicate or reveal or enlighten whom He choses as He choses, and humbly set my rightness at His mercy.

After all, a humble friend who understands his limitations is a far wiser person to listen to than someone who constantly speaks truth with finite understanding.

1Corinthians 4:5

5Therefore do not pronounce judgment before the time, before the Lord comes, who will bring to light the things now hidden in darkness and will disclose the purposes of the heart. Then each one will receive his commendation from God.

Isaiah 55:8-9:

8For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD.
9For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

