A New Beginning: Day 2

So, yesterday did not go as planned… my house seems even messier than when I started, and nothing is packed yet.  Mostly, my good intentioned directives ended up in frustrated conversations with my 6 and 8 year olds.  My 20-month old clung to me like static, and somewhere along the way someone decorated my entry floor with muddy foot prints, and matching handprints on the garage and laundry room doors.

Sigh.

Today is different tho.  Given that all 3 of my kiddos did not stir until 8:30 this morning and were not even out of their beds until 9am, I figure we are all pretty tired.  The norm around here is between 6:30 and 7am.  After breakfast we lounged among the chaotic piles of laundry, and giggled together over the baby’s antics.  When the baby toddled off to entertain himself I decided a game was in order for the rest of us… if my older kiddos completed tasks before the timer went off they earned ** amount of points – if they were not done, they lost ** amount of points.  We have a postar with a star at either end of a sidewalk like path.  When they reach the top star (10 points) they earn a reward.  We laughed a lot.

Dishes are done, Laundry is folded and put away (tho probably not the way I would have done it…) The kitchen is relatively clean, and a gigantic fruit salad is waiting for dinner.  My entry is still decorated, and the kitchen floor just may be toxic by now… But, my 8-year-old is one point away from earning her reward, and my 6-year-old is 4 points away from earning his. No one is frustrated.

All three of my children are taking a “preventative” nap now.  This afternoon we will play more games, with mops and brooms and cleaning rags.  So not how I envisioned things going… but I have to admit, I really do prefer to enjoy my kids than be super organized wonder woman.  (even tho the tights are amazing…)

Leave a Reply

